Permafrost 2016 Book Prize in Nonfiction

We are proud to announce that we will begin accepting submissions for the Permafrost 2016 Book Prize in Nonfiction in August 2015!


The winner will receive $1,000 and publication of their manuscript through the University of Alaska Press.


We welcome manuscripts from all writers writing in English. We will consider manuscripts with excerpts or pieces that have been published, but we will not consider full manuscripts that have already been published, including self-published works. We do accept simultaneous submissions, but please notify us immediately via email if your manuscript is accepted elsewhere. No past or present student or paid employee of the University of Alaska Fairbanks is eligible to enter. Affiliates of UAF and their spouses are not eligible for entry.

When to Submit:

We will begin accepting submissions on August 1, 2015 with a deadline of Midnight, Alaska Standard Time, December 1, 2015.


Manuscripts must be a minimum of 150 pages long. All entries will be read anonymously. Please ensure that the author’s name does not appear on the manuscript. An acknowledgements page may be included also if the author wishes. We will accept manuscripts of essays or full-length memoir, nature and travel writing, and literary journalism.

We accept only electronic submissions through our Submittable page.

Entry Fee:

We ask a $20 entry fee to submit your manuscript to the contest.


A winner will be selected around May 1, 2016. Results will be emailed shortly thereafter.


Our judge for the contest will be Scott Russell Sanders, author of twenty books including A Private History of Awe and A Conservationist Manifesto.


Please address inquiries to the editors at