Permafrost 2015 Book Prize in Fiction

Congratulations to Becky Hagenston, the winner of Permafrost’s First Book Prize in Fiction. Becky won for her collection of short stories, Scavengers. There were nearly 150 entries, all of which were a pleasure to read.

Congratulations also to our finalists:

A.A. Balaskovits, A Girl Without Arms and Other Monsters

Christine Grimes, Consuming the Body

D.E. Lee, The Sky After Rain

Francis Davis, Why Don’t You Kill Me

Jeff Fearnside, Making Love While Three Feet in the Air: And Other Stories of Flight

Kathy Anderson, Chew on That

Laurie Blauner, The Solace of Monsters

Matthew Pitt, These Are Our Demands

Maureen Millea Smith, The Enigma of Iris Murphy

Rachel Hall, Heirlooms

Robert Schirmer, There’s Something Sinister About Today


The winner will receive $1,000 and publication of their manuscript through the University of Alaska Press.


Our judge for the contest was Benjamin Percy, author The Language of Elk, The Wilding, and Red Moon.


Please address inquiries to the editors at

One thought on “Permafrost 2015 Book Prize in Fiction

Comments are closed.